We’re back in Nice!

Mom, D and I arrived in Paris yesterday morning then took an afternoon flight to Nice.  The sky was glue and the sun was out when we arrived on the Promenade des Anglais but I couldn’t really focus on all that Cote d’Azur goodness.  No, I was way too tired for that.  All I could think about was getting to our apartment and putting my feet up.

Of course, we had quite a bit of luggage to take upstairs — thank God we have an elevator! — and when we arrived home I could barely contain my relief.

D made a quick dash to the bakery to get some savoury goodies to eat; sadly, we didn’t have a single bottle of rose to accompany our make-shift meal.  We had to make do with an Alsace wine.  We sat out on the balcony and discussed the weather in Nice and our plans for the week ahead.

Today will be an easy day.  We have a few errands to run including a stop at Carrefour and Nespresso.  Later today, Mom and I may go for a walk downtown so that she can see a bit of Nice.  (Last night, she started to ask what was on tv when it dawned on her that she wouldn’t understand any of it anyway.)  As the market is closed today we’ll make a trip tomorrow so that she can see what I do with my mornings.

On our agenda this week we plan on going to Grasse and St Paul de Vence.  A trip to Grasse includes a visit to at least one of the perfume museums.  The shops, of course, are a must.  This is dangerous for me as I love candles, soaps, and room/pillow sprays, all of which are available at the Fragonard store in Grasse.  The fact that Fragonard has a store in St Paul de Vence is not lost on me.

Of course, we have mini trips to Monaco and Cannes planned for Mom plus I’m thinking we’ll take a day trip to Vintimille, Italy.  Why not? It’s there and we have the time and it costs next to nothing to go by train.  At the end of the week, we’ll be in Coustellet before heading to Paris.

What are your plans for this week?

Tags: ,

Categories: everyday stuff, Nice

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “We’re back in Nice!”

  1. April 11, 2011 at 11:47 AM #

    There’s nowhere quite like home, is there? All of your mini-trips sound wonderful. Where has your mother travelled from?

    • April 11, 2011 at 6:50 PM #

      I tell ya, it was a huge sigh of relief to walk through our front door. I hope that she enjoys her stay.
      Oh, she didn’t come too far; she lives in one of Toronto’s suburbs.

  2. April 11, 2011 at 12:06 PM #

    So much fun! Nothing like having your mum come visit! Mine came to see me in Hong Kong around this time last year. I am jealous! Has she ever been to Nice? Would love to hear her impressions! My mom came to visit me in Nice as well when I lived there and she LOVED the Cours Saleya… She was also a big fan of the Multari bakery in the zone pietonne… Awwww, now you’re making me reminisce… I love Nice!!

    • April 11, 2011 at 6:52 PM #

      I thought of you today: we walked past two Multari bakeries. There’s one just down the street from us.
      No, she’s never been to France period. In 2006 we were in Europe together but we didn’t come to France. The weather today was beautiful — 22 or 23 degrees — so we went for a walk in town. Tomorrow we’ll go to the market; we’ll see how she likes it there.

  3. April 12, 2011 at 5:33 PM #

    Welcome home, Tanya. Have a wonderful time with your mom. It sounds like so much fun. My mom has visited several times but still doesn’t like that I call this “home”. It really bugs her. Get on the Frangonard mailing list. They send you free perfume samples every couple of months!

    • April 12, 2011 at 10:24 PM #

      So far so good Delana. The weather has been lovely the past 2 days so no complaints. And thanks for the tip re: Fragonard. I will definitely sign up!

Leave a Reply

