Getting organized: it’s visa time!

I am a planner. I like to plan things. I like making lists and organizing my stuff. The fact that I have lots of stuff and live in an apartment that’s about 200 sq ft smaller than my previous one bothers me.  The fact that I have only one closet in our apartment does drive me crazy.  But still I plan and organize because one of these days I’ll either have a bigger place or less stuff.

While I wait for that bigger place — you don’t really think I’ll get rid of all my stuff, do you? — there are two things on my immediate horizon.  Both items involve planning and organizing.  The first is our honeymoon trip.  In 23 days we’ll be on our way to what D and I call our dream location.  We’re both excited and I would start packing now if I wasn’t already on a mini trip to Paris.

The second item which requires me to use my planning and organizational skills is this business about my visa.  Sadly, this is not a shopping trip.  I’m talking about finally getting the paperwork together for my long-stay visa.  Being able to stay in France for more than 90 consecutive days has never been an issue.  I travel to Toronto every 2 months, give or take a few days.  That said, it’s always good to be prepared for any eventuality.  But it’s more than just being able to stay in France for 90 consecutive days.  A girl’s gotta work.

Yes folks, I’ve been living the life of Peg Bundy (minus the tight-fitting clothes, cigarette, big hair, and shoe-selling husband).  Actually, I do more than Peg. I cook dinner for my husband, I run errands, and I’ve been known to do the laundry.  Other than that, my life has centred around this blog and travelling.  And the odd bon-bon.  Yes, a cushy life indeed.  While my life is such that I haven’t been forced to work, a part of me needs something more.  This is where this visa is a big plus.

So, what’s taken me so long to get the ball rolling?

Well, we started the process before getting married and after publishing the banns at the French consulate in Toronto and finally being ‘allowed’ to get married, we waited until December to request our marriage certificate.  (If Donald Trump is reading, we have both the short-form and the long-form.)  Why the wait?  As per the government’s website, it’s to allow for processing.  Don’t ask; I didn’t.  All this happened before the end of 2010.

With our long-form certificate, we registered our marriage with the French government.  In exchange, we received our livret de famille as well.  (Another official French document with my name on it!)

The next step was to check the consulate’s website (again) to ensure we had the necessary documents.  In fact, as D was at the consulate to pick up our livret de famille, he verified the information stated online…only to realize that his carte d’identité had expired.  Yes, that would happen to be one of the pieces of information required.  After some back and forth between the consulate and the photo place, D submitted the necessary documents for his new carte.

Everything seems to be on a lovely roll and to keep things going I’ve scheduled an appointment for a meet & greet interview with the visa office.  This interview will take place in July.  I am given the choice to have the interview in English or in French and I’m a little torn as I wonder if it will look better if I do things in French.

Sometimes, it’s all about optics.

But how much of this can I plan ahead anyway?  I suspect not much.  Once we’ve gathered all the paperwork and photos and presented them to the powers that be at the consulate it is out of my hands.  No amount of planning and organizing will help after this point.

Tags: , ,

Categories: French bureaucracy, visa

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Getting organized: it’s visa time!”

  1. gracekaya
    May 2, 2011 at 8:29 PM #

    all the best with the process honey… i hope it goes super smoothly!

  2. May 2, 2011 at 10:59 PM #

    Bon courage, and don’t feel discouraged at all the red tape..I spent yearsssss trying to get my Italian nationality, which would enable me to stay and work in Europe…the Italians are far from easy in that respect…but I got it!!

  3. May 3, 2011 at 12:46 AM #

    sounds like you are ready to get it done… being mentally prepared is a big part of it. i hope it goes smoothly.

  4. May 3, 2011 at 1:50 PM #

    Two things:

    1) Loved the dig at Mr. Trump. He’s ridiculous.
    2) You go back to Toronto every two months?! I’m jealous. Bring me back a patty and cocoa bread from Eglinton West (preferably from Randy’s) please!!! 😉

    • May 9, 2011 at 9:21 AM #

      I just had to put in my 2 cents ’bout the Donald.

      And yeah, I get to see my family quite regluarly so it’s a bonus. A patty and cocoa bread, huh? That wouldn’t last 5 mins in my little hands. Plus, you’re going to the T-Dot this summer so go get your own. Be sure to treat Liebling to some yummy J’can goodness too!

  5. Roz
    May 3, 2011 at 8:15 PM #

    Congratulations! I hope things continue to go smoothly.

  6. May 9, 2011 at 8:55 AM #

    Long stay visa….That’s good news! Sure there will be a followup story if you’re like most of us…always a story when one goes to the prefecture. Courage. I suppose I’ve missed you on this Paris go around!!?? Jamaica is fast approaching!! We just booked our tickets too for this summer…2 weeks NY…2 weeks Jamaica. To say we’re counting down is saying little! Irie data!!

    • May 9, 2011 at 9:19 AM #

      Y’know, I’m not too stressed about it all. I’m going into it with a fair amount of optimism and patience. We’ll see. And yes, JA is fast approaching. We leave for Toronto in 9 days and will be in Jamaica in 16! Good for you; that will be a sweet trip!

Leave a Reply

