Just a quick word

June.  Can you believe we’re already in June?  May felt like it flew by and, looking at my schedule for June, I’m fully prepared to grow wings this month.  The back and forth between Toronto and France is exhausting.  Literally.  I love travelling but the jet lag is a killer.

D and I arrived in Paris yesterday morning to grey skies and rain.  This is in total contrast to the hot and sunny mornings we experienced in Montego Bay last week.  (I’ll post more on our vacation later.)  Not much can beat the warm Caribbean sea, fresh fruit, and early morning swims.  For one week, I could totally relax and veg out.  There was no laundry to do, no meals to cook, no apartment to clean.  Everything was done by someone else.  The greatest challenge for me each day was whether to hit the pool or the sea.

Being in Paris is not so bad either.  I do get a headache each time I’m here, which cannot always be blamed on jet lag.  It’s a bit of trauma trying to decide what to do each day.  Sure, there are lots of things to do in this city…it’s just that I’m always tempted to go shopping.  This would just wreak total havoc on my bank account so I sensibly opt for something a little more reasonable.

Today, I really just want to crawl back into bed for more sleep.  After getting to bed around 11:30 pm last night I woke up around 4 am.  (I didn’t look at the clock so I’m basing the time on the light outside.)  I was still awake at 6 am.  (I know it was 6 am because D woke up and checked the time.)  I eventually fell asleep but I feel I was short-changed 2 hours of sleep.

I need to get caught up with myself and my sleep as the next few days will be busy ones too.  D and I leave Paris on Saturday morning and head to Chartres for the weekend.  After Chartres, it’s on to Coustellet for a very brief stay with les parents before we’re back in Nice.

Of course, being back in Nice means sleeping in my bed — how I’ve missed it!  It also means doing piles of laundry and catching up on household chores, two things I don’t miss.

We have less than 2 months at home in Nice before we’re on the road again…but that’s for another post.

Tags: ,

Categories: le retour

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Just a quick word”

  1. June 9, 2011 at 12:01 PM #

    I know what you mean. Sometimes it’s good to just sit still. Can’t wait to read about the MoBay trip.

  2. June 9, 2011 at 1:55 PM #

    Glad to hear you’re back in the country! We’ve had rain for a bit (which is good for sleeping and doing laundry), but the sun seems to be back out. Would love to see some pictures of the other beaches you’ve been visiting…

  3. helena
    June 9, 2011 at 4:23 PM #

    Yeah, pics : ))) glad to heat you’ re back : )

  4. June 10, 2011 at 10:44 AM #

    Can’t wait for the post and pics of JA!!

Leave a Reply

