FFF – Deal-icious at Brasserie L’Européen

By now you all know that I if I loved food more I would be a food-aholic.  Some may call it a sickness but I call it love.  It’s the reason I enjoy cooking.  I also use food to remember places and specific events.  In fact, at dinner on Tuesday night D and I were talking about one of our first visits to Paris together and that he wants to take me to a restaurant we had visited on one of those early trips.  He described the area, where we went, what we saw.  It was a total blank.  The obvious question was “what did we eat?”

Eating is a total experience for me and I will gladly pay the price especially when I know that the food is good.  I’m not just talking about fine dining.  Sometimes, a good dining experience includes less expensive — and hopefully local — products at an affordable price.

This is what you can expect at Brasserie L’Européen.

Located directly across the street from the Gare de Lyon, this brasserie is just that: a brasserie.  It’s just simple, straightforward food.  If you have time to kill before you hop on your train it’s a great location to sit and chill.  The best part is the prix fixe menu.  The set menu of 32€ includes an apéritif, entrée, main course, cheese plate, dessert, and coffee.  It also includes your choice of a 1/2 bottle of wine (red, white, or rosé) or water.

While the selection in each course is not large it is typical brasserie fare.  On our first visit I had the confit de canard.  It wasn’t the best confit de canard I’d ever had but it was definitely not the worst.  The meat was tender and flavourful as I had expected but the skin was not crispy enough for my taste.  On our last visit I had the daurade with sauce vierge.   The fish was quite good as was the sauce.  I wasn’t blown away but I was satisfied.  Ditto for the cheese plate — a slice of chèvre and a slice of Brie — which is served with a little salad.  I could do without the salad though as sometimes it seems a little tired looking.

The best part of the meal, for me, is the entrée.  On my visits to L’Européen I have always chosen the oysters.  I haven’t been disappointed.  The 6 oysters are always well presented and they are oh-so good.

I don’t believe that L’Européen will win major food awards but they should win awards for their service.  Even with a full house, the service is very efficient and personable without being too in your face.

Brasserie L’Européen
2 rue de Lyon 75012 Paris
01 43 43 99 70
01 43 07 26 51

Tags: , , ,

Categories: FFF (Food Frenzy Fridays)

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “FFF – Deal-icious at Brasserie L’Européen”

  1. Sinead
    June 10, 2011 at 5:35 PM #

    You know what? You should get a job as a writer for an English Language newspaper over there that caters to either an Ex Pat audience or Canadian/American Tourists, and be a “Foodie Commentator.” So not a Food Critic, but something exactly like what you just did up there in this post. You gave such a great honest “readable” review that I enjoyed reading so much. And now I want to go visit this restaurant in Paris! You’re good at this you border-line-food-a-holic you!

    • June 15, 2011 at 11:06 AM #

      Thanks Sinead, that’s so sweet of you to say. If someone would pay me to write about food I’d jump at the chance in a heartbeat! And hey, if you ever find yourself in France let me know; we’ll go on an eating excursion of Paris and Nice. 😉

  2. June 13, 2011 at 8:51 AM #

    I love eating at simple brasseries…some of them give you the feeling of real French food..I will take a peak at this one..
    Thanks!

    • June 15, 2011 at 11:07 AM #

      I agree re: brasseries. Definitely try their oysters. In fact, that’s the main draw (for me) to the restaurant.

Leave a Reply

