The wheels, the bus and washing my hair

It has been one of those weeks.  You know what I’m talking about.  It feels like you’re on the brink of change and yet there’s something that’s just not right.  I feel like I’m walking a tightrope and, despite the fact that I continue to progress along the way, I know that one false move, a slight increase in the wind, the sun lowering into my eyes would cause me to slip and fall.

I guess I figured that this year would be less challenging than last year.  In many ways it has been easier but still I have this feeling of upheaval.  I think it has to do with the fact that I’ve travelled more to date this year compared to the same time last year.  I would have to do a check to confirm but I believe that I’ve been in an airport/on a plane more times this year than all of 2010.

Yes, I can see you all rolling your eyes and wondering ‘what is that girl’s problem?’

Well, I miss my pillow.  That’s the easiest way to put it.  Don’t get me wrong; I love travelling.  I just I wish I could take the apartment and its contents with me when we travel.  (I’m trying to find a way to make the essence of this possible.)

Instead of wallowing in this mood — D doesn’t let me wallow — we headed off to the beach for a little downtime before dinner.  It’s an easy way to relax and to recharge.  I’m shaking my head as I type as I think back to our beach visit on Sunday.  We were at the beach and the waves were super high.  On several occasions it felt as though the entire Mediterranean was being forced up my nose.  (The good thing — yes, there was a good thing — was that my sinuses never felt better.  Who needs a Neti pot when you have the sea?)  Not to mention the few times where I was lifted off my feet as the waves swelled, covering my head.  I mention my head as I had washed my hair the day before.

For most of you, getting your hair wet is no big deal I presume.  For me, and for those similarly coiffed, let me just tell you that hair washing is serious business.  It can be a day long process as I don’t use a dryer to dry my hair; I leave it to Mother Nature.  As a result, depending on the time of year, I could be walking around with damp hair for a few hours.  That’s the easy part though.  The entire washing process takes time…and water.  So, getting dunked on Sunday at the beach and then having to go through the hair washing again was not in my plans.

I do have plans however despite the wheels falling off my bus.  And I think that’s what I need to focus on in the short-term to get through this phase.  I will continue to enjoy the rest of this week and, with the cooperating weather in Nice, this should be an easy task.  On the weekend, D and I will be running around town to pick up tools/equipment for the planned reno of les parents’ kitchen.  The reno is scheduled for early July but in the meantime I have one quick trip to Paris to fit in.

Once the kitchen is done D and I head back to Toronto because…well, because we can!

Tags: , ,

Categories: changes, everyday stuff

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “The wheels, the bus and washing my hair”

  1. June 23, 2011 at 9:13 AM #

    I hear you talkin’ here, Tanya. I haven’t traveled as much as you have this year but enough and am now packing for 2 back to back trips. I’m enjoying it but at the same time, I’m so happy to be home. And I want to stay there for a while to get reacquainted. I feel a bit as if I’m circling my bed, searching for the most comfortable place to lay down! Don’t even get me started on hair washing day. I’ve now got it down to every 6 days because it just takes sooooo long, even though I’m not similarly coiffed. I went to the beach too yesterday and as I was diving in, all I could think of was…shit, it’s only day 2 and I’ll have to do it again tomorrow. Courage!

    • June 23, 2011 at 10:21 AM #

      Thanks Delana! Your comment made me chuckle. The things women do… Yes, courage indeed.

  2. June 23, 2011 at 10:09 AM #

    Ha ha ha oh lord, I so get you, from the being on vacation yet wishing I was at home in my own ktichen, my own bathroom and my own bed, to the hair thing! Funny and oh so timely as we are off for a week’ biking trip (oh, I have gotten used to the luxury vacations and fancy hotels!) where we will be outside all day and sleeping in who knows what kind of lodgings! Thanks for a great post and a smile!

    • June 23, 2011 at 10:25 AM #

      Good luck with the vacation. I’ve always wondered about those biking trips as it seems like a good way to see the country and get some exercise. Now, if it comes with a stops in really nice hotels then sign me up! Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

