A welcome break in Cagnes

View from the steps leading to chateau GrimaldiThe weather in Nice last week was nothing less than beautiful.  We had about 3 minutes of rain, very fine rain, on Wednesday afternoon otherwise the days were sunny with very few clouds in the sky.  Thanks to the location of our apartment we benefit from a cooling breeze that, with our open windows, keeps the apartment cool.  Of course, keeping the windows open mean welcoming flies and mosquitoes inside.  There are worse things, I know, so I’m not complaining.

In the spring, while most of France suffered through an extremely dry season, I think it rained every day in Nice.  The upside to all that rain is that the trees outside the building are lush and green…and provide a screen from the allée below.  The last time D and I walked up this ruelle was May 2010.  We had walked from our hotel to visit the apartment mid-way through our apartment hunt last year.  One of the things we noticed was the sense of being outside the city surrounded by all this greenery.

Being home is like being in an oasis in the city.  We can’t hear the sound of the traffic below us and not many drivers use the little street behind the building.  Instead, we have quite a variety of birds…including four wretched turtle-doves.  (I’ll save that for another post.)

We signed the lease for our apartment on 25 June 2010.  Reason to celebrate, yes?  Coincidentally enough Saturday marked 9 months to the day that D and I were married.  With memories of our wedding day in mind we started our day with pastries from our bakery.  We spent a bit of time reminiscing and marvelling at the fun we’d had that day.  We did have plans for the day, including several stops, to pick up the necessary gear for the kitchen make-over.  None of the stops were romantic in the least.

I did think the day would pass in a romance-free blur.  After all, we did have a schedule to stick to and it was now or never.

I was wrong.

D exited the highway in Cagnes-sur-Mer [en français] and up we drove up to les Hauts de Cagnes in the hills overlooking the sea and the city below.  This was new territory for me.  My most vivid memories of Cagnes involve hitting pretty much every real estate agency in town as we searched for our apartment.  That’s the Cagnes I know.  After a quick walk around — imagine St Paul de Vence on a smaller scale — plus a stop to admire château Grimaldi, we had lunch at Le Jimmy’s.

Black and white

I won’t say that lunch was a light affair — I still get confused when I see salad on the menu; is it an entrée?  A main course?  (I decided that I would have a salad with my lunch; a nice garden salad.  Lucky for me that 1) I love salad and 2) the salad at Le Jimmy’s was really good because I certainly got more than I expected.)  D and I shared a half bottle of Bandol and while D capped his meal off with a café Liègois I opted for a cappuccino.

The rest of the afternoon passed in a reno/deco blur as D led me from Leroy Merlin to Saint Macloud and finally to Castorama.  The romance died somewhere in the aisle with all the saws.  I realized I was literally dragging my feet.  I was so bored.  I could feel a coma coming on.  My eyes were glazing over but D didn’t notice.  He was too busy looking at drills and drill bits and plugs.  All I have to say is that at least shopping malls have benches and sofas so men can rest while their wives/girlfriends shop.

Looking up at chateau Grimaldi

Finally, we were done for the day and we headed home for drinks.  My reward for being a trooper: rosé champagne!

Tchin!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Cagnes-sur-Mer, dining out, getting out

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “A welcome break in Cagnes”

  1. June 28, 2011 at 4:20 AM #

    I love a good salad! Any pics of the food?

    • June 28, 2011 at 2:37 PM #

      Yup. I’ll probably put the rest on my Facebook page; stay tuned.
      The salad was great, I should add. It was just a simple garden salad of mixed greens, spring onion, olives, and the barest amount of dressing. Totally refreshing and satisfying…and HUGE!

Leave a Reply

