It’s a red and white day

Canadian flagMy day started, as it usually does, with tartines of jam and butter — not Canadian — and a coffee.  The coffee is not Tim Horton’s.  (I’ve never been on the TH kick.)  I won’t be wearing any red nor will I be singing the O Canada at any point in the day.  (At least, at this point it’s not a scheduled part of my day.)  Lunch definitely won’t include beaver tails or poutine; there won’t be any maple syrup in sight.

So, with nary a Canadian thing about my day how am I going to celebrate Canada Day here in Nice?  I will recite a very popular Canadian rant poem.  If you’re not Canadian you may not know the words so I’ve included them below for reference.  Here goes.

Hey,
I’m not a lumber jack
Or a fur trader
And I don’t live in an  igloo
Or eat blubber
Or own a dog sled.
And I don’t know  Jimmy, Sally or Suzie from Canada
Although I’m sure they’re really, really nice.
I  have a Prime Minister not a President.
I speak English and French, not American.
And I pronounce it “about” not “a-boot”.
I can proudly sew my  country’s flag on my backpack.
I believe in peacekeeping not policing,
Diversity not assimilation,
And that the beaver is a truly proud and  noble animal.
A toque is a hat, a Chesterfield is a couch,
And it is  pronounced “zed” not “zee”,”zed”!
Canada is the 2nd largest landmass!
The  1st nation in hockey!
And the best part of North America!
My name is Joe and I am Canadian!

(Okay, so it’s a beer commercial.  What did you expect?  Something highbrow?)

Maybe listening to William Shatner is more your cup of tea.  In any case, Happy 144th Birthday Canada!

And to my Canadian friends and family in Canada, enjoy the long weekend!

*Photo courtesy of Wikipedia and Jared Grove

Tags:

Categories: Canada, celebrating

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “It’s a red and white day”

  1. Sinead
    July 1, 2011 at 6:34 PM #

    Happy Canada Day Tanya!

  2. July 1, 2011 at 6:49 PM #

    OMG! Effing luvving it! I effing LOVE that ad. Who doesn’t?

    I’m not having any of those lovely things, either, but I guess we carry home in our hearts.

    Happy Canada Day to you too!

    • July 1, 2011 at 7:21 PM #

      LOL!!! Do you know how many times I watched that add? I couldn’t stop and then I felt like a nerd sitting there laughing by myself.

      Anyway, enjoy the day and the weekend!!!

  3. July 2, 2011 at 12:00 AM #

    Canadian beer commercials are the BEST!!! 🙂 Happy Canada day, darlin! 🙂

  4. July 5, 2011 at 2:33 PM #

    Brrrr…that’s cold!!

Leave a Reply

