I *heart* shopping

“Love is in the air, every sight and every sound…”

It’s been a while since I channelled a song for a post.  Love Is in the Air, by John Paul Young, has been bouncing around my head for the past few days.  It’s no wonder as our 1st wedding anniversary just a few days away and a trip to Corsica en amoureux as a petit celebration.

And this mini vacation could not have come at a better time.  The back and forth between Nice and Paris was starting to take a toll.  We were spending as much time with complete strangers as we were with family.  And you know it’s bad when you recognize a cab driver on the street…and when he recognizes you too!

Our recent trip to Paris…ahem…Disneyland Paris was a little more painful than anticipated. First, the confusion of finding myself in the North America while being in France.  I had to remind myself that I was still in France and that French was the official language.  Second, the screaming adults.  Who knew how excited grown-ups could be just because Goofy was in the room.  (I’m not kidding.)  And third, it was freezing.  A slight exaggeration but leaving Nice’s sunny blue skies and 28°C for Paris’ grey skies, rain, and 18°C was not my idea of a good time.

The sun did come out, however, while I was at La Vallée Village.  It was perfect weather for window shopping or no-pressure-browsing at shops such as Diane von Furstenberg and Valentino.  (There was a sexy red dress chez Valentino that had me drooling in the store.  I *heart* Valentino.)

For those of you who like a bargain then La Vallée Village should be on your list of places to visit.  You can shop the designer stores and pay a fraction of the original retail price.  The only catch is that you’ll be choosing from last season’s or last year’s designs.  Still, there is a lot of drool-worthy items to be had.  The classic and ever-stylish white shirt that’s in every French woman’s wardrobe can be found at the Ralph Lauren outlet.  Longchamp had some gorgeous handbags available in every colour and at very reasonable prices.  The same is true for the Michael Kors store where I had to talk myself away from the pretty, shiny, gorgeous handbags.

I didn’t leave empty-handed though.  I bought a simple grey jersey dress from Ralph Lauren.  All I need now is the cool weather to come my way…

This weekend, while it may not be cool in my neck of the woods, I do plan on snuggling up with the one I love best.  Bon weekend mes amis!

La Vallée Village
3 Cours de la Garonne
77700 Serris
France
Tel. +33 (0)1 60 42 35 01

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: celebrating, everyday stuff, love

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “I *heart* shopping”

  1. September 22, 2011 at 8:52 PM #

    Awww! Happy 1st anniversary. How did Paris Disneyland compare to the North American version? Also, I’m ticked that it’s 28 degrees and sunny in Nice. It is cold here in Guatemala!

    • September 23, 2011 at 12:09 PM #

      Thanks!
      Disneyland Paris was a madhouse. The hotel we stayed at, Sequoia Lodge, was like a huge log cabin US style…but Disney themed of course. It was disconcerting, really. You felt like you were in the US. I don’t know if that was their aim but I can’t say I totally enjoyed it. Hence, I went shopping.

      Yes, it’s still warm here in Nice but the mornings and evenings are quite a bit cooler now even though.

  2. October 25, 2011 at 9:55 PM #

    I go to La vallée from time to time; but NEVER on weekends (I went once..OMG! never again) I find Disney paris “sad” compared to its American cousin..I don’t know why !!

    • October 27, 2011 at 9:50 PM #

      That was my first visit and I was pleasantly surprised. I haven’t found anything similar in Nice…yet! And shopping on a weekend is something I try not to do.

      As for Disney Paris, I understand your sentiment. Something was missing for me too and I’m not sure what that missing element is.

Leave a Reply

