San Remo for lunch

Any reason to travel is a good one I say.  With D’s business partner in town we hit the road and crossed the border into Italy.  Our destination was San Remo.  Yes, we went to Italy for lunch!

After our typical breakfast of coffee and pains au chocolat/croissants, the three of us into our rental and hit the road.  We decided to take the scenic route as we had the time.  With brief photo stops overlooking Villefranche and Monaco we finally crossed the border into Italy.  It was only then that I remembered that not only had I forgotten to write the address of the restaurant, I had forgotten to write the name.  All I knew was that the restaurant was on the beach near the port.

We arrived in San Remo with little ado and easily found a parking spot by the port.  There were only two restaurants in sight, one of which was Victory Morgana Bay Cafe & Restaurant.

As luck would have it, this was the restaurant where we had planned to have lunch.

It is low season so the restaurant was practically empty.  A few people, like us, tempted by the sunshine and blue skies, had obviously decided that lunch on the water was essential.

The service at the Victory Morgana was very good, from the greeting at the door to the arrival of the cheque at the end of the meal.  The meal and the view made for an even lovelier afternoon.  If you clicked on the link above — aside from the advertisement with the blond — you’ll quickly notice the windows.  From almost every seat in the restaurant you have a view on the sea.  With the sun setting early and the fact that we lingered over our lunch, we did catch the start of the sun setting.

But let me tell you about the food.

SC and I started with a plate each of the tartare trio.  The fish was fresh and was the perfect way to start our meal.  D would disagree, however.  He opted for the royal crab with wild salad.

SC went traditional Italian and selected a pasta dish — spaghetti with lobster — for his main course; D and I chose the lobster, fish, shellfish and vegetables royal grill plate.  Be still my heart.  The calamari were grilled to perfection and the lobster was finger-licking-good.

Of course, no meal is complete without dessert.  SC was watching his waistline I think as he chose a lemon sorbet with vodka.  D continued this dessert-digestif trend and selected the rum-flavoured chilled dessert with chocolate bits and flambé of Zacapa 15-year-old.

My choice was an obvious one (for me): chocolate flan with vanilla ice cream.  Now, the menu said “chocolate flan” but what I got was more a moelleux.  Mmm-mmm, warm chocolate cake with a melted centre served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream which was on a little caramel basket.  It was a definite home run.

We capped off our lunch with a proper espresso and soon it was time to head back to Nice.  Living this close to the border of course this is definitely a day trip I will definitely make again.  If you’re planning a trip to Nice schedule some time for a trip to San Remo.

Getting to San Remo
**  The drive, if you take the highway, takes about 1 hour.  Remember to have change or an accepted credit card for the tolls.

**  Take the Moyenne or Basse Corniche for a more scenic drive.  The drive time is longer — expect to be on the road for 1.5 hours — but if the weather is good you won’t regret it.

**   Taking the train to San Remo is another option if you have time and/or if you plan on seeing more of San Remo.  You will have to change trains after crossing the border in Vintimille/Ventimiglia.

Remember to Like Tanya in Transition on Facebook!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: day trip, Nice, restaurant, San Remo

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “San Remo for lunch”

  1. December 12, 2011 at 3:10 PM #

    I’ve been to Ventimiglia but haven’t gone as far as San Remo yet, but definitely want to. Do you think it’s worth it for a whole weekend?

    • December 12, 2011 at 4:52 PM #

      I have no idea. Aside from the drive and enjoying the view I know nothing about San Remo. That said, I do know that there’s a big market there but a fair amount of the stuff are knock-offs (in terms of clothing and purses/handbags). I do think it’s a worthwhile weekend trip if only to see something different and parlare italiano!

  2. January 14, 2012 at 6:33 PM #

    You went to San Remo and found a parking place? I remember once we went there for lunch (from Nice) and took years to find a place….such a long time that then all the restaurants had closed!
    Thanks for the restaurant tip!

    • January 15, 2012 at 1:04 AM #

      Lol, yes but it was also during the low season. Now that I think about it, the parking lot was full but there were still quite a few spots.

  3. Cappuccino&Baguette
    January 20, 2012 at 10:57 PM #

    Although I live in Nice, I’m Italian and so often I go beyond the French border. The last time I went to Sanremo, I was in a lovely restaurant called Osteria Camelot (http://www.osteriacamelot.it): the kitchen is provided by a nice lady and the food is homemade and very tasty. Try it! And if you desire an italian ice cream, there’s Grom (http://www.grom.it). It’s a very popular Italian ice cream franchising, which has also some point of sale abroad.

    Beware if you want to go there soon, because from 14th February, Sanremo will be crowded and in high season because of the Italian Song Festival (http://www.sanremo.rai.it)

    • January 20, 2012 at 11:52 PM #

      Thanks for the tip! I’m always on the lookout for great places to eat/drink. I’ll add them to my list!

  4. January 25, 2012 at 1:12 PM #

    Drooling! What a delicious lunch. Certainly beats the piece of toast I’m eating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

