The Man

People have asked me what I do in France (besides eating croissants and pastries of course).

Monday to Friday I got to the office because I have a job.

I work for The Man.

That’s what I say whenever I’m asked.  “I work for The Man,” is my reply. Yes, I even imagine the words with their respective capital letters. The. Man.

The fact that The Man is mijn maan, mon mari, my husband is of no import. He is still The Man.  Actually, I think I just like saying it; it does make me chuckle each and every time.

So yes, I work for The Man.

The Man gets to the office at least a full hour before I’m awake. Lazy sod that I am, I finally make my way to the office only after breakfast.  Real work does ensue.  Sure, sure, I can hear you scoffing already but yes, I sit next to The Man and I do work. After all, he IS not even an arm’s length away and can easily take a peek at my computer to see if I’m really working or if I’m surfing the internet for pleasure. (And yes, he’s done it.)

Working for The Man has two distinct advantages.  First, I have a very flexible schedule.  Why? Because I’m also The Man’s favourite chef and he does like a nice, home-cooked meal.  And, preparing/cooking said meal takes time and energy.  Also, he knows that I enjoy writing and that this blog is important to me. (Happy wife = happy life.)

Second, I get to travel.  Y’see, The Man likes when I travel with him.  I don’t get to travel on every single trip but it’s often enough that I know my way around the airports in Paris and Nice, can manoeuvre eyes closed through several TGV stations, and can name several hotels and restaurants in various European cities as my favourites to stay and dine.

There are a few downsides, however, to working for The Man.  The biggest is that sometimes I end up working 10-hour days.  It’s only because I can see the time on my computer that I realize I need to stop or I won’t have time to prepare anything for dinner.  (And The Man understands this and doesn’t care that I just get up and leave the office.)  The other challenge is that The Man and I have different working styles. He likes a nice and quiet office so that he can concentrate. Me? I like to work to a little music.  But the real drawback to working for The Man is space management.

The space management issue is not a new issue as we — The Man and I — have shared an office before.  The desk we currently share is a fairly large one but here’s the kicker:  The Man is a space hog.  If I’m away from the office for more than 5 consecutive minutes the invisible line that separates my half of the desk is crossed.  Papers, pens, and other office supplies that The Man feels are in his way are quickly punted over the line and into my space.  (I have advised The Man that this behaviour will no longer be tolerated.)

Now, when I first told my mother that I was going to work for The Man (instead of getting a real job or whatever) her first and very practical concern was “what about your retirement?”  Thankfully, I was able to reassure her that my working for The Man meant that I would also have a retirement income when the time comes.

So yeah, I work for The Man.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Would you ever work for your spouse/partner?  Why or why not?

Remember to follow me on Twitter @tanyaintransit, and “like” me on Facebook! If you’d prefer an email every time I post something new simply subscribe above!

Tags: , ,

Categories: everyday stuff, working

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “The Man”

  1. March 26, 2012 at 12:44 PM #

    Ms. T,

    I don’t think you answered the question.

    Great post, though!

    • March 28, 2012 at 4:26 PM #

      Lol, which question? Do you mean would I choose to work for my hubby? In a heartbeat. I admit that I have it good and really, the positives easily outnumbers the negatives.

  2. March 26, 2012 at 3:41 PM #

    lolol…this was fun to read!

  3. April 20, 2012 at 11:37 AM #

    Oooh, sounds like the perfect job to me. I’m a sucker for anything with a flexible schedule that doesn’t involve me wearing suits and high heels on a daily basis!

  4. April 20, 2012 at 4:09 PM #

    Awesome! I’m sure there is stress sometimes, but I think it’s a good way to work and live: partnership. And a great looking fellow, BTW.

    • April 23, 2012 at 3:32 PM #

      Definitely. The stress isn’t what you’d get in a ‘regular’ job but it’s there nonetheless.
      I think he’s quite the attractive fellow too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

