Two hours in Ménerbes

This time last year, I was in Toronto preparing to return to France with my mother in tow.  Even though we’re only a few days into April, much like last year, much of France was blessed with an early spring.  Even Paris had shrugged off her grey coat in favour of sunny skies.

D and I are back in Paris for the rest of the week — it seems we spend more time here than in Nice — before heading to Toronto for a couple of weeks.  What better time for a trip to Coustellet.

Not only does a weekend with les parents mean getting spoiled rotten, it also means sneaking away for a quick visit to one of my favourite village perché, Ménerbes.  On Sunday afternoon, while D’s parents enjoyed la sieste, D and I headed to Ménerbes to enjoy a little more of the provençal sunshine.

Although it is still early in the tourist season, we heard quite a few people speaking either German or Russian or, in response to our ‘bonjour‘ we received well-accented ‘bonjours‘ in return.  But, being in Ménerbes at this time of the year means that you almost have the streets to yourself. This means time to take photos of empty patios or colourful woodwork.  (The downside is that the cafés and restaurants may not be open.)

D and I strolled the streets hand-in-hand before finally making our way to Place de l’Horloge and the Maison de la truffe et du vin du Luberon.

D was in his element as he wandered through the maison’s cellar, reading the labels on the wine bottles. We left empty-handed (this time) but with the plan on returning to buy wine for le papy‘s cellar.

And while D was tempted by the wines in the cellar, I fell in love with the cookbooks in the store: I could have bought one of each.  And let me not forget to mention the liqueurs, the civet, and the soaps!

All too soon it was time to head back.

Yes, there would be time to enjoy the fading sunlight over the Luberon with a glass of chilled rosé. Santé!

What’s your favourite thing to do on a sunny Sunday afternoon?  Leave me a comment below or, you can tweet your reply to@tanyaintransit or post a comment on my Facebook page.

Categories: getting out, Provence, sightseeing, wine

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Two hours in Ménerbes”

  1. April 5, 2012 at 5:06 PM #

    What a lovely way to spend the day. I love visiting this area right after Easter…not crowded with tourists as it is in the summer.

    • April 6, 2012 at 7:23 PM #

      Yes, so true! I’ve actually never visited any of the villages perchés during the tourist crush but I can only imagine how busy they are. Away from the silly season, as I call it, the villages are peaceful and lovely and you can just spend an entire afternoon lingering over a glass of wine.

Leave a Reply

