Desperately Seeking Summer

Just how optimistic are you?  Are you a ‘the glass half full’ person and do you see the silver lining on every cloud?

Do you retire your shoes and socks for flip-flops at the first sign of warm weather? Even if it means sporting your summer footwear with a heavy sweater or even a coat?

{Toronto’s skyline at night – photo courtesy of Skeezix1000}

This is the fate of Torontonians every spring.  They will tell you that this past winter wasn’t a real Toronto winter. In fact, Torontonians celebrated the New Year with 12°C temperature.  The warm weather at the start of the year didn’t last long but it did set a little trend.  The usual blast of arctic air, so common and so unwelcome, in February didn’t really arrive.

What did arrive was the first day of spring.  With it came warm weather, sunshine, and the inevitable mani-pedi + sandals combination.

As we move slowly towards summer the weather in Toronto has been hit or miss. One day we were greeted by sunshine, blue skies, and 24°C; the following day would be grey, grey, and cold.

This hot-cold mix has many Torontonians crazed and confused when it comes to what to wear. As to what they put on their feet, however, it’s sandals or flip-flops all the way.  There doesn’t appear to be a compromise. Either it’s boots/shoes and opaque black tights or it’s bare legs and feet with sandals.  The other day, as I took the subway downtown to meet friends for lunch, I couldn’t help noticing the number of young girls, teens, and women (and a handful of men) sporting this odd, spring-in-Toronto-can’t-wait-for-summer dual personality fashion statement.

All this makes me chuckle because I wondered what these people did when the temperature dropped.  I like to think they forged on with brave faces and cold feet.

Yes, forge on they must for once the decision to commit to summer footwear has been made there’s no turning back.

And I love this optimism, this belief that things can only get better from here!

(PS: even though I feel a little exiled here in Toronto — boy, do I ever miss being in France — I have to tell you something: Toronto in the summer is pretty darn awesome!)

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: getting out, Toronto, weather

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Desperately Seeking Summer”

  1. May 9, 2012 at 10:02 AM #

    Ah – I am so guilty of being that person! When I lived in New Zealand, I shivered through many an afternoon wearing inappropriate attire in an attempt to FORCE the warm weather!

    • May 10, 2012 at 5:42 PM #

      If I know the weather is going to be total crap I’ll try to avoid the bi-polar dressing…otherwise, I avoid public transit or spending time outside. And yes, it’s like trying to force Mother Nature into turning up the heat lamps!

Leave a Reply

