Carnaval de Nice: Corso Illuminé

Despite the drop in temperature on Saturday evening, D and I headed to Place Massena for the Corso Illuminé.  The parade was scheduled to start at 9:30 pm by which time it was cold enough to warrant digging out our winter coats.

D and I settled in our seats and I took a look around.  Place Massena was jam-packed and the place in front of the stores were filled as well.

I must admit that we enjoyed the Corso Illuminé more than the Bataille de Fleurs.  Perhaps it was the setting or maybe we were just dazzled by all the lights.  Either way, it was fun.  I’ve included some of my pictures below.

Can you identify the faces represented on the floats in three of the pictures below?

For more photos from the Bataille de Fleurs and the Corso Illuminé visit my Facebook page.

Tags: ,

Categories: neighbourhood sights, Nice

Author:Tanya in Transition

I am a woman in transition. I left my job of 13 years to find happiness and self-fulfillment...in France!

Follow me

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Carnaval de Nice: Corso Illuminé”

  1. February 28, 2011 at 12:12 PM #

    What a nice post!! I didn’t even know there was a carnival feast in Nice…Thanks!

  2. Tuula
    February 28, 2011 at 12:17 PM #

    Lovely photos – we went to the day parade yesterday, so fun! Picked up a visiting British friend – next time maybe we can meet for a coffee 🙂
    It was such a great, festive atmosphere, wish it was carnival all year long…!

    • February 28, 2011 at 6:52 PM #

      Most def!
      Yes, it should be carnival all year long but right now I would be satisfied with a warmer weather.

  3. Oneika the Traveller
    February 28, 2011 at 3:51 PM #

    Great photos! I am tres jalouse!!

Leave a comment